Sometimes you come across a book that you are determined to read no matter how long it takes. The characters so good that no matter how long it’s been since you last read a piece you remember no matter what. The story so unique you really have no idea how it’s going to end before you actually get there.

                                                          Lasher Anne Rice

Last night I finally finished Lasher by Anne Rice ten years after I first started to read The Witching Hour. I remember thinking to myself that it had taken me five yours to read to read that one I also remember wondering how long this one would take me.

                                                           Taltos Anne Rice

Now I almost wish not to read Taltos, the last book in the trilogy of the Mayfair Witches. Because it would mean after ten years the story is actually coming to an end. Yet the more sensible side of me is saying…not for another five years though surely.

I’m sure if I were to talk to a close friend about this they would ask. If the books and the story are so good, why does it take you so long to read the things? They would have a valid pint. You see, I am a book a holic. I admit it, if I could only buy one type of thing for the rest of my life. I would choose books.

I can read a noel in a week. Considering I only really read at night time and I have roughly, give or take twelve books on the go at the same time.

I remember wondering about this very thing five years ago. But really there is no mystery to it. Anne Rice is such an amazing author that I saver every single word, and considering how much actual detail she puts in to the whole one thousand and fifty six pages of The Witching Hour and six hundred and forty pages of Lasher it’s really not that surprising it’s taken so long to read the dammed things. The question really should be: Why did it not take me longer than five years per book?

                                               The Mayfair Witches Trilogy Anne Rice

